The Eastern Shore Archives

The Eastern Shore Archives was founded in 2003 in response to the need to preserve the records of the Hosking General Store which had been donated to the Heritage Society when the building was dismantled. The Archives is located in the former Upper Lakeville Community Hall. The hall is one of the local buildings moved to the Heritage Village where it was authentically restored on the exterior and renovated on the interior to create a modern archival facility.

Eastern Shore Coastal Community Mapping Project

The Eastern Shore Coastal Community Mapping Project, hosted by the Eastern Shore Archives and collected/managed by artist Julie Adamson Miller from July 2018 – June 2019, aims to provide context, understand local community values, and hear about hopes for the future of the Eastern Shore. This Community Mapping process made connections between the communities along the Eastern Shore and their marine environment by looking back through their fishing history and coastal heritage, and ahead to the future.

The information gathered in this project was originally artistically rendered on two large-scale maps – one showcasing the history of the Eastern Shore and the other highlighting the present with local residents’ hopes for the future - and presented to the community at a number of open houses at local community locations. This project has now been digitized, showcasing the information collected during the mapping process in an accessible and engaging website using the ESRI Story Maps platform.

Click the map image on the right to visit the story map and start exploring!


General Seafoods Clam factory, Ostrea Lake ca. 1945   


The Archives is the only formally recognized community institutional archive (as defined by the formal admission process of the Council of Nova Scotia Archives) east of Dartmouth within eastern Halifax Regional Municipality. It has achieved peer recognition for its establishment and is actively supported by local genealogists.

In 2003, and again in 2009, the Genealogy and Archives Research Centre was the recipient of the Council Nova Scotia Archives (CNSA) Carman V. Carroll Award for outstanding achievement in archival preservation. The Archives has worked hard to create a secure and safe environment for the records of the Eastern Shore, having installed an Inergen Fire Suppression System; heat, fire and security detection systems; and a climate control system.

The Archives provides reference services, but also carries out research initiatives in the community, including photo scanning and documentation, oral history recordings, and preservation assistance and advice to other local historical societies.

The Eastern Shore Archives is staffed by volunteers and it is always best to call in advance to make sure a staff person is available to help you. Generally, the archives is open one day a week throughout the year, but these days can vary, so call in advance to set up an appointment.


Princess Theatre, Spry bay ca. 1940

Hours of Operation:

June 15 – September 15: Open one day a week, call for an appointment. Occasionally open on special events days.
September 16 – June 14: Open one day a week, call for an appointment.
All open hours are subject to change. Please call or email to confirm hours of operation. We welcome requests to do research by appointment.


Find us on Facebook:

The archives has an active Facebook site where we post photographs and history items, and where researchers can post a request from our other Facebook subscribers.